my computer freezes periodically - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2004, 01:53 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

LOL, what a surprise! thnx for all of you techs! right now im going to work and talk to my sys admin there, maybe he has a spare power supply that i can use on my PC for testing. i dont know at what time exactly i can provide you with an updated information about how far ive managed to go with it but i guess in the evening i can write a new reply here, hehe. i will also disable the sound in Bios and see what it says lol. and ofcourse, i am interested in these testing diagnosting benchmarking progs LOL. oh yeah and 1 more thing: about that electricity, yes i have to say that the electricity here is nothing more than unstable here, ive had manny "sudden" powercuts and things like that and i dont have UPS either, it costs too much for me to buy but i guess i have to get it some day. thank you all!

regards
Tipsi
__________________

Tipsi is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 02:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/

There you go, run the performance tune up first. have fun!
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 03:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Just a possible alternative. When I have a PC that is acting up like this, sometimes I find the best thing to do is remount everything in the PC just take the hardware all out clean the case so its nice and clean and then put it back together and try.

I also noticed that alot of your freeze ups are happening when you are trying to update things. It may be possible whatever device you are using to access the internet (NIC, modem) may be the root of your evil. If you have a spare NIC or modem to pop in its place you may also want to try that before you throw the thing out.
Good luck^^
Mordrec is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 05:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

ok, ive run this sisoftsandra performance test and the pc froze when it was checking the Comms Devices Information, however i ran the check again after i rebooted and it went fine. now i dont know if its any good but ive added the test results. i didnt yet get the spare power supply for testing and i havent disabled the sound card either (not yet, maybe this test report will reveal something?) and i do have an onboard 56K modem that i dont use, have a separate ethernet and Broadband.

regards
Tipsi
Attached Files
File Type: txt system report2.txt (20.9 KB, 23 views)
Tipsi is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 08:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

How am I suppose to help you if I don't know ALL your system specs?
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 01:47 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

ok, thats a good point, what kind of specs do you need?

regards
Tipsi
Tipsi is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 05:43 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tipsi
ok, thats a good point, what kind of specs do you need?

regards
Tipsi
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2500+
Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-X
RAM: 512MB Corsair XMS DDR PC3200
Hard Drive: Western Digital 80 GB 7200 RPM
Video Card: PNY GeForce4 Ti 4200 64MB-8X
Case: Antec SLK3700AMB w/ 350W psu
Optical Drive: Sony CD Burner 52x32x52

this is an example.also do what has been suggested, it helps to narrow the problem down.
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.