My computer is always freaking out. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2007, 03:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: My computer is always freaking out.

Atomic tofu, that is a great link thank's for that
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 04:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: My computer is always freaking out.

Barely a year old. My dad was having a lot of troubles with it so he went and bought HP compaq computer with vista. Then he gave this computer to me. It is a pretty powerful computer has Windows xp media center I love it. I will try to defrag it.
__________________

cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 12:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: My computer is always freaking out.

if that actually fixes those problems...you may want to see if you can get ahold of some restore discs....and do a clean install on it. (or build yourself a legit install from a recovery partition if that computer has one).
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 11:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: My computer is always freaking out.

Yea it has a recovery partition. But we have done that twice and it doesnt work. It hasnt done it in a while so. I will have to see.
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Matty
Default Re: My computer is always freaking out.

Norton, thats your problem!

If you've got the install disks, remove it and then use your PC, guarantee it will be a shed load faster!!

Install a good Anti-Virus program... Antivirus Software - Eliminate Spyware and Adware with NOD32 Antivirus from ESET ; NOD32!

The rest looks fine, you've got a few un-needed processes but shouldnt have much affect on the PCs speed.

Do a hard drive de-fragment if you havent already!
__________________

Matty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
My computer wont boot! Chris Down Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-24-2007 01:25 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.