my brother hacked into my computer...how? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Default my brother hacked into my computer...how?

I have a password protected computer and some how my brother got in it and created himself an account. I am pretty ticked off and I am curious as to how he got in. How is this possible? Thanks!

MM18
__________________

musicmaker18 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Can't you get in through Safe Mode into the Admin account? Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Well when you create an account and you put a password, there is a way to reset the password by pressing the reset button on the bios chip.
Dont know how to get it but i do know how to get rid of it xD
DOTA2000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

so safemode really isnt that safe.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

You can get to the admin account from normal log in, not just safe mode.

Just put a password on the admin account and disable the guest account.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Handy shortcut:

start menu > run > type in 'control userpasswords2'
imation is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 164
Default

to be honest the chances are he guessed the password
__________________
Skuzzle - Powered by Badgerbyte Web & IT Services
www.drive4fun.co.uk check it out
Skuzzle is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

XP is the easiest OS to hack. You can only get to the administrator account via safemode if I recall. It is not available at the welcome screen and if you override the welcome screen with a CTRL-ALT-DLT trigger and enter the administrator account and password it will prompt you that the current policy prohibits the use of this account in normal mode or some crap like that. This is true for XP PRO not sure about home.

Simply put though yes you can just boot up in safe mode and if the administrator account never had a password set he could logon with that and simply create a new account and have endless power ;-) You can easily change the administrator password with a boot cd as well.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOTA2000
Well when you create an account and you put a password, there is a way to reset the password by pressing the reset button on the bios chip.
Dont know how to get it but i do know how to get rid of it xD
...This is for the BIOS password not OS passwords.

As said, if your main system administrator is not passworded, then that would probably be his entry point. Though, in Windows XP Home, you can only access the system admin account in Safe Mode...In XP Pro you can access the system admin account in normal mode if you use classic login or ctrl+alt+del.

If he hasn't gained access by simply guessing the password and getting lucky, or simply accessing the system administrator account because it wasn't passworded, then there are a lot of free tools on the Internet he could have used to reset or change the administrator password, like the Offline NT Password & Registry Editor:

http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html

Comes in both bootable CD and floppy disk versions, and the webpage has a easy to follow, step by step guide on how to do it. All he'd need is a few minutes in front of your PC.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default

OR he got a cracker and 5 minutes later he was in. You can get password crackers anywhere.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.