Multiple Active Directory Containers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2005, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Question Multiple Active Directory Containers

Active Directory Gurus: *Looks for Inaris*

We have restructured our network and reformatted servers in an effort to combine domains into one. Using Windows 2000 Server, I have created a server that will serve as a member server for additional active directory accounts, and another that will just be a basic server.
Here's my question, how can I combine the Active Directories so I don't clutter up one server? These are the names of the servers in question, and I can be more specific if need be.

Domain.local (original server with one set of AD users)
Members.Domain.local (new server that I want to create additional AD users)

*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne

ok, im a little rusty i havent been a tech for a while (last job got messy) ok. Say your company is Test Company

root domain TC00 (good name, i dont think this will resulv anywhare heh)

Then have your new servers setup as bdcs based on location
TCCA00 (test company canada 00)

then you can have 99 canadain servers. You can also use diffrent country codes for more servers. This i find to work the best for a naming convention.

I think that answers your question. If it doesnt just repost and ill take another stab'at'er

Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

Trusted domains, AD visible on all that are trusted
brady is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195

Thanks for the tip, and I made the domains trusted, but where do I go for the option that makes all trusted domains view-able in the active directory?
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.