multi-OS boot??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2003, 10:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Question multi-OS boot???

got here an old system and 5 OS.

system:
P III-700MHz
512 RAM
40GB HDD

OS i want to install: (for expirementation)
LInux Redhat 9.0
Linuz Mandrake 9.1
Win 98
Win XP
Win 2003 server

i know the different file system their using but is this possible to muti boot my system with these 5 OS?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Exclamation thanks



Quote:
Yup...
How?

what OS will i install first? will it affect my system speed?
__________________

__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 03:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Default

You can use LILO, a great bootloader!

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LILO.html
__________________
Da //FRAG-clan is da best!

ahum...
yoran is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 04:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Cool ...



Quote:
"System Commander"....http://www.v-com.com/product/sc7_ind.html
yah, thanks for that but gee, i saw a $ sign on that.

i give it a try with fdisk first..

Quote:
To be honest i don't think it really matters which OS you install first as you'll get a choice of which OS to boot into when you boot up i presume
correct me if im wrong, in windows-based system, you have this certain pattern (that is, which OS to install first) to have this multi-boot so i presume that same thing follows.

enlighten me.
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Default

ive only saw on some threads explaining a Linux-Windows muti-boot but combining different version like the one that i posted is what i want to attain.

pardon me Yoran but that LILO is still hard for me to understand.

i know with the different file-system their using, how can i come up with a window that displays these OS during boot up?

Thanks.
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

There's a couple of options...

You need to install the windows stuff first. Windows usually wants to take the whole hard drive. So if you installed your windows stuff first and then went to the Linux stuff, linux has 2 built in bootloaders. LILO and GRUB they both do the same things pretty much but look different. So after you get to the part where you choose the boot loader you can choose a label for each partition. So /hda1 Windows
/hda2 windows
/hda3 windows
/hda4 linux
/hda5 linux..

You'll also probably need partition magic to repartition your drive...thats $$ though...
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 04:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well maybe install the OS you want as default last to make the last changes on your Boot.ini - just so if you are not there to select it will go to that OS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 04:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Thumbs up

Quote:
You'll also probably need partition magic to repartition your drive...thats $$ though...
can i use FDISK instead?

Thnaks guys for all the support.. ill give it a try.
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 05:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Exclamation excess...

Quote:
well maybe install the OS you want as default last to make the last changes on your Boot.ini - just so if you are not there to select it will go to that OS
If I want WIN XP to be my default OS, can i use this sequence?

[ win98 - Win2000 - Mandrake - Redhat - Win XP ]
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 05:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

i don't know if fdisk is cabable of handling the NTFS filesystems??

If so, then sure
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.