Multi-Booting with XP and 98 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2005, 01:03 AM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya the boot.ini determines every OS installed so i have to figure out what to insert in that to get 98 to run. NT tends to overwrite older 9x files
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
ya, win98 uses the old DOS method of booting, winXP uses the NT method which is different and should work ok as long as its installed second........I think? Doesnt XP have a tiny little NT boot partition with some .ini files and stuff in it?
yep
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I forgot a trick I did once to install different os. i set the bios toc boot from different harddrives. I have xp and vista on 1 ide hard drive and MCE 2005 on a sata. I bet you can do that.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cvb724
lol ya i know now too. problem is that a few of my older programs dont run with the backward compatibility function xp came with so now im stuck installing it after

...what kind of programs do you have that won't work on XP? if it's that old of a program, maybe you should consider upgrading...
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:08 PM   #15 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

i have a few games that i wanted to run again, i need to call up old tax reports that dont work with my 2005 version (called the company and they said there new version only works up to their 1998 version. they said they have had a lot of calls about that. i think they should have thought of that before releasing it) and an old file manager that i tried to dl but doesnt work with 2000 and up (forget the name of it) that is much better than the new versions. having a 250 gig hard drive its hard to keep everything where its supposed to be

i'll try what u said Eric cuz that sounds like it might work... this is way more complicated than i wanted it to be!!! hehe
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

this is were there is a problem ..windows 98 over writes Xps Master boot record so u have to install 98 and then do a repair on XP but after the repair u may need to reinstall drivers
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 02:02 PM   #17 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

what if i detached the hard-drive containing xp. mbr is on the hd right? or is it loaded into the rom chip? then i could install 98 after the other hard-drive is off
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 04:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Your friend's right, take out the xp disk, install 98 on the other disk. Then put xp in as the master and edit the xp boot.ini like this...

[boot loader]
timeout=5
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
D:\="Windows 98"

I'm not 100% sure that 98 will boot from d:\ though. If your existing boot.ini is different to first few lines leave it like it is - all you're doing is adding the D:\"Windows 98"

EDIT: Hang on, I just tried it with an old windows95(!) disk and it said it couldn't find hal.dll, I'll investigate further...
pharic is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 04:33 PM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

k thanx. i thot that for windows 98 you had to type the same as the windows xp line tho where u have to tell it how many partitions there are. or is that because 98 didnt use boot.ini?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.