multi boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2007, 04:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default multi boot problem

i'm going through some testing of multi booting with my PC. Right now i'm only working on VMWare workstation 6 to test.

I was able to install 4 OS with almost no problem. I set up 3 virtual HDDs with a few partitions. I have XP Pro on C: (disk1, part1), Vista on E: (disk 1, part2), Win2003server (disk2, part1) and OSX 10.4.6 X86 (disk 3, part1).

They show up in this order when I boot.

The problem is, when I click on XP it boots 2003 instead. when i click on 2003 it boots to nothing. Vista and OSX boots ok.

The configuration in EasyBDC 1.6 running in Vista is fine. The boot.ini in C: only shows xp and 2003. When I run 2003, all the drive letters are different, but no big deal for me. Acronis OS selector can only detect 2003 and an unknown OS.

I want to install Linux on a 5th partition next, but I would rather fix that problem first.

Any help be appreciated.
__________________

NRJ33445566 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: multi boot problem

What do you use to select your operating system?

I had the same problem once upon a time, until I downloaded GRUB...which seems to have fixed it.

GNU GRUB - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF)
__________________

Azure12 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: multi boot problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure12 View Post
What do you use to select your operating system?

I had the same problem once upon a time, until I downloaded GRUB...which seems to have fixed it.

GNU GRUB - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF)
thanks, I was just trying this. But I think i messed up something. I decided to install Linux which has grub on it and at the end only had 2 options for booting: linux and windows (which didnt boot). I'm still very new to linux, so I don't know what I did wrong in Installation. It should have given me 5 options. I'm now trying freebsd, but can't seem to be able to boot with it.

So right now i'm trying to find on the internet how to edit my boot in command mode. Not much luck there.
NRJ33445566 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: multi boot problem

Here is a guide to installing a dual boot system with Linux and Windows..



I don't know if Grub can offer you more then 2 operating systems.
Azure12 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 11:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: multi boot problem

In Linux, do this in terminal:

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

Then you'll see a list of OS'es, add to that list by following the pattern in the file. The "hd(0,1)" means hd(<hard disk number>,<partition number>) of the OS to boot. Windows OS'es may need some extra flags, just read the file to see.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: multi boot problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
In Linux, do this in terminal:

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

Then you'll see a list of OS'es, add to that list by following the pattern in the file. The "hd(0,1)" means hd(<hard disk number>,<partition number>) of the OS to boot. Windows OS'es may need some extra flags, just read the file to see.

When i type this command i get this message:

nrj is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.

then I go back to [nrj @localhost ~]$


PS, ok was able to get it under root, but the file is blank, nothing in it. It's like the file never existed in the beginning.


NRJ33445566 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: multi boot problem

ok turbolinux uses grub.conf instead, not menu.lst. i was able to open it to edit it.

figures crossed


Edit: ok now i'm able to view the extra windows when i boot in grub. I got now Turbolinux, winxp, winvista and win2003 listed.

Now when I select xp it goes to dos/windows boot mode, giving me the original boot loader that I had before getting grub. (this bootloader still has the problem that xp loads into 2003 instead and 2003 does load anything. Vista and OSX boots ok. Now if i can make those menu transfer that to grub, it be nice.

back in grub, when i select vista i get a ntldr error, and 2003 doesnt boot. I haven't tryed to add OSX in the grub boot menu yet.
__________________

NRJ33445566 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Boot Problem Mike9182 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-19-2007 09:15 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.