MSN Messenger - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Unhappy MSN Messenger

Been having a problem signing in to messenger on my laptop for several months now.

when signing in I just get this error message:



That is Error Code 80048820

I've googled around the problem and it seems fairly common with like a million different solutions.

I can log in just fine on my other PCs which are setup the same way, connecting into my router.

I don't have a software firewall on the laptop currently so I know its not that as the message suggests. Other things i've tried:

Upgrading MSN messenger from 7.5 to live

Changing the MTU on my adapters and router to 1400 and several other values up to 1500

Reregistering the appropriate DLL files:
regsvr32 Dssenh.dll /s
regsvr32 Gpkcsp.dll /s
regsvr32 Slbcsp.dll /s
regsvr32 Sccbase.dll /s
regsvr32 Softpub.dll /s
regsvr32 Wintrust.dll /s
regsvr32 Initpki.dll /s
regsvr32 Rsaenh.dll /s
regsvr32 Mssip32.dll /s
regsvr32 Cryptdlg.dll /s
regsvr32 Msxml3.dll /s

Repairing windows files with SFC /SCANNOW

I've checked that IE settings are default with no proxy.

I've also tried various other things...

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

when that happens to me its usually because my date and time are incorrect
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Ahh yes, forgot to mention that. My date and time are correct, freshly updated via time.windows.com

When I click on troubleshoot I get this:



now I know the hosts file warning is rubbish because I emptied my hosts file.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I would not mess with your MTU setting though, it should stay at 1500 or 1492 or lower for DSL.

I would uninstall it, restart, redownload another one, and install it then restart. Because it could just be a bad installation at first.
Law is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Bypass the router for this computer, connect it directly to your ISP device (modem), see if there is any problem connecting then. Just to see if it's the router, though it might not be, I would just give it a try. Doesn't hurt to know.
Law is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yes unfortunately I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling it several times, even re-downloading the install.exe.

I tried a few different MTU limits as I've read lots of instances of this problem being fixed by lowering the MTU, I've set it back to 1492 now.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Bypass the router for this computer, connect it directly to your ISP device (modem), see if there is any problem connecting then. Just to see if it's the router, though it might not be, I would just give it a try. Doesn't hurt to know.
No can do i'm afraid, my ADSL modem is built into my router/firewall.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You said you clear the HOST file. Have you check that the loopback address entry is there.

The only thing there should be the loopback address
127.0.0.1 localhost
Law is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
You said you clear the HOST file. Have you check that the loopback address entry is there.

The only thing there should be the loopback address
127.0.0.1 localhost
Yes that entry is there. normally its full of other enteries from spybot search and destroy, but i've removed those.

Ive just done another fresh install, with a registry scrub inbetween with no joy.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

NVM
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.