msgsvr32 GPF in krnl386.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2005, 09:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default msgsvr32 GPF in krnl386.exe

I booted the computer up at work today and I could tell it wasn't any more happy than I was that it was Monday.

The scenario an my Windows 98se PC: It boots to the windows login prompt, I enter my domain username and password, and it attempts to run my login script and map my network drives but each attempted connection produces an error 53. Once the login script finishes its run an error dialog pops up saying Msgsrv32 has performed an illegal operation. Details show it caused a general protection fault in krnl386. Aftewards only the desktop wallpaper is displayed; I can move my mouse but the keyboard is nonresponsive (except for a CTRL+ALT+DEL). -- If I attempt to boot to safemode I at least see desktop icons but still can't interact with anything.

I understand msgsrv is responsible for managing several processes including playing a startup sound and spawing the explorer shell. I suspect the sound card or the net adaptor might be the culprit though things were working fine last week.

Any thoughts?


bluephoenix is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

boot to safe mode command prompt. run scanreg /restore. choose a date that the machine was working properly

what this does is rollback your registry to the date specified. windows automatically saves a copy of your registry for each day on a successful start.

office politics is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

GPF is memory-related... if it just happened recently, that means your RAM could possibly have some errors. Krnl386.exe is the kernel, that which executes code.

It's along the lines of memory addresses are called that do not exist... and when this happens, windows cannot add anything new to the memory.

Anyone that deals with memory testing can finish my train of thought.
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.