msdos error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default msdos error

every time i try to go into dos it says this....








keeps me from installing some games, ne 1 know what the prob. is?
__________________

seh264 is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

ummm, what exactly does it say? You forgot to post that part.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default

sorry, can u see it now?
seh264 is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I have a dual boot with XP and 98, so I use 98 for most DOS stuff and I don't have much experience with XP in this matter.
What happens when you click "Ignore", does it still crash or what?
Obviously not every DOS game is going to work properly with XP, you can't expect miracles.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Ok, I've had this happen to one of my computers at work. It was cause by spyware being on the computer.

First run a couple of scans for spyware. Spybot, Adaware, SpySweeper whatever. Then go into your add/remove programs and look for obvious spyware (like ad deliverer, toolbar etc..)

Then to fix this problem, you need your Windows CD. Put it in your CD drive, the goto start -> run -> cmd

type the following
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\config.nt_ c:\windows\system32\config.nt
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\command.co_ c:\windows\system32\command.com

Replace CD-ROM Drive Letter with the actual drive letter (it's probably D)

For more information about this, here's the microsoft article regarding the issue.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324767

Go to Start -> command
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default

ok thx, fixed, autoexec.nt got removed from system32 folder
seh264 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Same exact problem. Mine is also dual boot xp and 98. I have to fix it on xp (drive letter e) so do I change c: to e:?
__________________

__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.