Msconfig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 04:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default Msconfig

Hey, i have a problem. When i type "msconfig" in Run, it says, "Windows cannot find 'msconfig'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again etc."
__________________

thienhoang21 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Which windows version are you using?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

yup, its tha version.
xotix is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default

XP
thienhoang21 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ow, it should work with XP
try typing services.msc
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

If you don't have msconfig, you can
download it here. But I cant remember what folder to put it in. Maybe someone else here knows.
aye29 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Have you tried searching for msconfig?
If you find it you can run it from the search dialog.
Mine is located in c:\windows\system32\dllcache
on a machine running xp pro
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 05:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default

well U can try Going to safe mode and try running Msconfig there if it does not open then try running services.msc and if still nogo then well u would have to download it and u can download it from above 'aye29' has the the link so download it will b up and running
__________________
Its Better To Be Pissed Off Than To Be Pissed On......
Kevz is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

2000 don't have the msconfig
if you are winXP OS,you find the c:\windows\system32\msconfig.exe have or don't have.
if don't have ,you must be copy other's msconfig from other OS.
nmhie is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

oh.sorry,if c:\windows\system don't msconfig. you can open
C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Binaries

I'm Engish is too bad .sorry
__________________

nmhie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.