MS Screws over it's users - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Angry MS Screws over it's users

I have been having High CPU usage recently so I reformated and reinstalled my XP thinking it was spyware or a virus. As I was installing windows all was fine then I was ready to activate but it said it could not connect to the internet no problem I moved on. After installing my Vaio drivers I then clicked on the icon to activate windows it connected then I got a new popup I never got before. I actavated my key too many times . So I was pretty mad about that but no problem I just requested and claimed another key from the msdn. But then I relised something if you do not have access to this your screwed how is the customer supposed to use their OS if they don't have this ?


I also am thinking of joined the Volume/Corp users. While I was requesting and claiming my new XP key I saw the Volume category. I passed it up but now I'm having second thoughts. If I get a volume key can I always use it or will I have to also request a Volume/Corp XP ISO from them?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Tyler we do not support pirated software here on the forums...

This is though normal. I have had this happen with most of the Dells I worked on. It was not a problem though I simply called the number they provide you with then tell them your CD-KEY (this is a sticker on the DELL case) and they provide you with a new product code to enter in the blanks where it says to enter your new product code given to you by the MS rep.

I noticed that when I reformated after getting this new product code that I still used the old CD-KEY and it worked fine. I always forget that the product code and CD-KEY are differnt
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

What what was that? Win2kpatcher you know me better than this. The MSDN site has categories for you to request new serial keys it is perfectly legal I choose the average key I'm asking if I get a Volume key from there will I have to get a new XP ISO from them also. Is there a Corp version of XP or all do you need is the Volume CD-Key.


Also Sony manufactures Vaio's not dell or hp.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

id assume that you'd have to buy a **** load of copies to get volume copies. unless you got it elsewhere.
office politics is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I can get any type of key I want all I'm asking is to use a volume key do you need a special version of XP such as Volume XP or Corp XP?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

There is no activation in volume licences I believe.

I'd assume you would get an image but it would probably be expensive.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

So you do need a Volume edition of XP then to use a CD key correct?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I seen a copy on newegg once for $3600.00
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I seen a copy on newegg once for $3600.00
LOL I'll take two.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Tyler why not just call ms say I had to reformat and bam they give you a new key, Ive done it 3 times, works everytime.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.