MS photo editor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2002, 10:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Question MS photo editor

Using Windows NT: Local user is trying to view a picture file. When the user double clicks on the picture file or tries to open Microsoft Photo Editor, the application opens, but it remains on the task bar not enabling us to use it. The local user cannot close, maximize or open any picture file within Microsoft Photo Editor.

What I've done as an administrator? I've logon as administrator and as another user. I was successful in opening Microsoft Photo Editor with both attempts. I've also checked the rights of this local user and it is the same as everyone else. Just to double-check her rights, I've logon as the local user, who is experiencing the problem, on another computer and I was successful in opening picture files in Microsoft Photo Editor.

Does any one have any suggestions?

marjlafon is offline  
Old 11-13-2002, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Try deleting all the temp files in that users directory, ive seen weird stuff like this happen before.

And by the way, I mean all temp files, not just in the temp dir, but in the photo editor dir, and any other tmp files you can find.

Lemme know if it works.

\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Your gonna think this is crazy

When you see the MS photo editor down there on the taskbar, right-click on it and choose "restore." I had a butt-load of customers with this same issue, when we upgraded to win 2000 from 95...

It may or may not work, but don't be afraid to try it.
brahm is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1

well it may be too late for you know, but for anyone else who views this page, the problem is that the window is off the screen. MS has a fix where you change the initial position of the window in the registry but all i did is right click on the taskbar button, select move, and move with the keyboard til it showed up
queler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.