MS Frontpage Freezes On Opening

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bubbels

Beta member
I am running Windows ME on a Compaq Presario 5000. I have been using MS Office 2000 for a couple of years now, & now I'm having a problem in that when I try to open Frontpage, the splash screen appears & the program begins to open, but then it freezes. My computer is frozen, as well. Alt-Ctrl-Del & pressing the restart button do not help. The only thing I can do is disconnect the power, wait a couple of minutes, & reconnect the power. Just before this happened I had been receiving error messages on opening Frontpage that there was not enough memory??? I checked my system resources & they were at about 78%. I closed all programs that were open. I tried starting Frontpage fresh after rebooting & still got the error message. Then I began having the problem above where it wouldn't open at all.

I have tried everything I can think of. Have even tried MS Office repair, reinstall, uninstall, then reinstall again.

I'm trying to remember what I was doing when I first had the problem.

I do recall that the server that hosts my site had crashed, & my site was down for a few days. They eventually put it on another server. I was having trouble logging in to edit my page (I edit it live), but eventually we realized that permissions hadn't been set correctly on the server & that was fixed. I was able to log in & edit my page one time.

The next time I tried to edit my web page I did it a little differently. I went to my page in my browser & clicked File/Edit With Microsoft Frontpage (not sure why I did it this way; must have been having a problem logging in the regular way & wanted to see if this would work), but then FP froze & I haven't been able to get it to open again.

I followed MS' site's advice where it said to go to C/WINDOWS/APPLICATION DATA/MICROSOFT/WEB SERVER EXTENSIONS/CACHE & I moved all of these files out to a temporary folder to see if the cache was corrupt. Didn't help.