MS-DOS Multi-Boot Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default MS-DOS Multi-Boot Help

I have the following config.sys and autoexec.bat files configured in the following way, could some one tell me how I could configure the files to provide Multiple boot options as follows.

~Network software loaded with maximum space for applications to run
~Network software loaded with a page frame for EMS support
~No network software loaded and a continuous 64K block of upper memory set aside (ie not controlled by emm386.exe) for an EPROM emulator - starting at a sensible boundary!


config.sys
DEVICE=C:\DOS\SETVER.EXE
DEVICE=C:\DOS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE
FILES=40
BUFFERS=40
STACKS=9,256
FCBS=4,0
SHELL=C:\COMMAND.COM /p
COUNTRY=044,,C:\DOS\COUNTRY.SYS
DEVICE=C:\DOS\DISPLAY.SYS CON=(EGA,,1)
DEVICE=C:\DOS\ANSI.SYS
LASTDRIVE=Z
DEVICE=C:\CDPRO\VIDE-CDD.SYS /D:MSCD000

autoexec.bat
@ECHO OFF
C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE
PROMPT $P$G
PATH C:\DOS
SET TEMP=C:\DOS
SET TMP=C:\DOS
SET dircmd=/ogn
MODE CON CODEPAGE PREPARE=((437) C:\DOS\EGA.CPI)
MODE CON CODEPAGE SELECT=437
KEYB UK,,C:\DOS\KEYBOARD.SYS
CLS
CD \NWODI
SET NWLANGUAGE=ENGLISH
LSL
E100BODI
IPXODI
VLM
CD \
C:\MOUSE\MOUSE
C:\DOS\SHARE
C:\DOS\DOSKEY /INSERT
MSCDEX /D:MSCD000 /V


Much Appreciated
__________________

Dannyvz is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

this may help you out. its the config.sys file from Bart's network boot disk. it'll show you how to setup a boot menu with different ems options.

You should load your network software from autoexec.bat. If you want an option to disable the network from config.sys then you could use a environmental varible as a flag that is set in config.sys and then referenced in autoexec.bat

[menu]
menuitem=AUTO, Boot with emm386 (most compatible)
menuitem=MAX, Boot with emm386 (max memory)
menuitem=NOEMM, Boot without emm386
menuitem=CLEAN, Clean boot
menudefault=AUTO,5

[AUTO]
switches=/f
break=off
dos=high,umb
files=20
buffers=20
lastdrive=z
device=\bin\himem.sys /testmem:off /v
device=\bin\emm386.exe /v x=d000-d8ff h=128 noems notr
shell=\command.com /e:1024 /p
devicehigh=\bin\ifshlp.sys

[MAX]
switches=/f
break=off
dos=high,umb
files=20
buffers=20
lastdrive=z
device=\bin\himem.sys /testmem:off /v
device=\bin\emm386.exe /v h=128 noems
shell=\command.com /e:1024 /p
devicehigh=\bin\ifshlp.sys

[NOEMM]
switches=/f
break=off
dos=high,umb
files=20
buffers=20
lastdrive=z
device=\bin\himem.sys /testmem:off /v
shell=\command.com /e:1024 /p
device=\bin\ifshlp.sys

[CLEAN]
shell=\command.com /p
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks a lot.

But I still don't know what to type to disable network software and have 65k block of upper memory set aside. Could someone help me I’m not familiar with DOS. And this an assignment for UNI
Dannyvz is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Any one ?
Dannyvz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.