MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 03:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows

why cant i play this game i try 2 install it and error comes up C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not sutable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.


My operating System:

System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service pack 1

Computer

Intel (R)
Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.81GHz
512 MB of RAM
__________________

nick_w is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Look in your computer and see if you have either of these folders

c:\i386
or
c:\Windows\i386

If you do, skip to the bottom, if you don't read on.

Go grab your windows install CD, browse the CD and grab the i386 folder.

Copy the entire folder to your hard drive.



Open up a command prompt. (Start -> run -> cmd)

Type the following:

expand Path_To_i386_Folder\autoexec.nt_ autoexec.nt
expand Path_To_i386_Folder\command.co_ command.com
expand Path_To_i386_Folder\config.nt_ config.nt

Where Path_To_i386_Folder is either c:\i386 or c:\windows\i386 or wherever you copied the folder to.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

tryed typing in the codes, this is what came up when i did that my i386 file is located in c:\Windows\i386 if thats any help

nick_w is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

lol, you just read my instructions a tad bit wrong

you should have replaced path_to_i386_folder with c:\windows\i386

type the following and you should be set to go.

Code:
expand c:\windows\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt
expand c:\windows\i386\command.co_ c:\windows\system32\command.com
expand c:\windows\i386\config.nt_ c:\windows\system32\config.nt
*EDIT*

I guess I goofed a bit too. Type what's above and you're all set.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 04:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

alright i did that what you told me to Thanx Heaps now it says

C:\DOCUME~1\nick\Desktop\NEEDFO~1.EXE
C:\DOCUME~1\nick\LOCALS~1\Temp\. A tempoary file needed for initialization could not be created or could not be written to. Make sure that the directory path exists, and disk space is available. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
nick_w is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.