Ms Dos 6.2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 12:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Glad you got it working.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 06:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default

__________________

Ansterted73 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

Sorry to revive this topic again, but I have two new issues that are relevant to the title.

First, I obviously need to create a network. My first thought was to just use an ethernet hub, but one of the computers is the one that MS DOS came with, no ethernet exists and no possible way to add on. So, a serial connection from the old compaq presario to some random computer, and from that one continue with the ethernet network. Will this even work? What problems might I run into and what do you suggest? Is there another better way to set it up?

Second issue- a gateway my friend dumped on me wont boot past legacy mouse and keyboard detected, regardless of what the boot order is. as soon as it starts, I should be fine.
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

NP glad to help if I can.

I think your serial solution would work but I have absolutely no idea how to tell your computer what to do, especially not in DOS. I've never network with that os.

So I'm assuming the Gateway doesn't boot off a diskette either?
This is most likely a problem with either the ram or mobo I'd say. Run memtest on it and see if it picks up any errors.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 04:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

you may just need to make sure another protocol is loaded (maybe netbeui)
some old puters just don't run on tcp/ip properly
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 06:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default Re: Ms Dos 6.2

Quote:
Originally posted by Link68759
I tried a variety of linuxes (all of which sucked btw).
omg n00b.

"I don't know how to use Linux, therefore it sucks."

Quote:
Originally posted by Link68759
actually the ones I tried couldn't do anything (linux). most of them kept saying features like things like "this feature is not yet implemented" for everything I did. I found slax and I like that though... still would rather have DOS
I've been using Linux for almost 3 years and I have never ever seen anything like that. Think about it, if Linux "couldn't do anything" then why would people use it? Sounds like you couldn't do anything.
The General is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

first, I am not an idiot, second this is off topic, go away.

Possibly I downloaded a whole bunch of linux rewrites by losers?
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 06:45 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

DOS wont connect to an ethernet netwrok since
1. There are no drivers written for DOS to use a ethernet adapter.
2. No way to force one to be recognized.

So your solution might work but then you would have to go thru 2 PC's to get to the network. That might not work. It all depends on the network setup. Some dont allow Rmote connections to the network thru a "ghost" machine. Or basically a machine that is acting as a gateway for another.

As for the gateway the best option is to go thru the steps. Check the Memory with MemTest. If that doesnt solve anything then check other components. Like Mobo, ports and so on. Sooner or later you should come across what is causing the problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 03:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

It is kind of old (gateway). As it cannot boot from anything, I can't run memtest. I'll try cleaning it up a little and see if that helps... and yes I know how to clean it without killing it for good lol.

Please clarify on what you mean by "you would have to go thru 2 PC's to get to the network."

Keep in mind that Win3.1 is also installed, if that makes a difference as far as ethernet support goes. Also, Doom may take care of the ethernet by itself, and that's all I really want the network for. It has 3 options for connection, and off the top of my head I think they are serial, modem and something else.

edit
Serial Cable
Modem
IPX Compatible Network
__________________

__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.