Mozilla Firefox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2004, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default Mozilla Firefox

I have recently started using Mozilla Firefox... and let me say first of all... i absolutely love it... its faster than ie... it looks nice (esp with skins), it has a built in but smart pop up blocker (So doesnt block popups which you have actually clicked to open!) and it has a nice built in download manager!!!

However on a few sites where a bloody adserver.adtech.de advert is place it pops up a username and password request for each advert ie. request login for "" at adserver.adtech.de or "adserver.adtech.de" at adserver.adtech.de
so it is gettting really annoying... as all i wanted to do was play the top 100 games on FHM.com

Is there anyway to stop firefox asking me this???

Edit: I have just tested it with IE and it does the same thing... is there anyway to turn this off on either browser? as it is obviously a website problem!

BTW if no one can answer this fair enough... but please consider using Firefox.... its beautifuL!!!!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

Let me just say welcome to the club! (as you can tell by my sig )

i had that problem once but did not feel like searching for a fix, because it was only once.

but other than that, EVERYBODY SHOULD GET FIREFOX!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19¬Ē SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I agree FireFox is great, but with the coming of XP SP2, IE is on the come back trail...
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Yeah, it is definately way better than IE. The only thing is that people need to start getting with the program and making sites compatable with more than one browser. Some sites I still must use IE, but having a nice one most of the time heavily outweighs the slight inconvenience. I definately liked how shockwave and flash are now fully supported by firefox. When I went to install them this time i didnt have to search for a random plug in directory, it actually recognized the browser! Go Mozilla!
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 06:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

with the risk of sounding like a mc donalds advert.... i'm lovin' it!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Since you guys like Firefox so well, I guess I will just have to try it. I went to Mozilla's website and saw the Firefox 0.8. Is that what you guys are refering too?

Also, why would Mozilla create 2 browsers? Can both be installed on the computer without any problems?
godai73 is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

yeah it is 0.8 we are talking about... i dont bother with the main Mozilla browser as i dont need the features that it has and i think it is slower than firefox!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to DeathToCats
Default

humm.. I'm using mozilla 1.6. I'll give firefox a shot..
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
MSI K8T NEO-FSR
Western Digital SATA 80GB/8MB Cache
2 - DDRAM PC-3500 512M KINGMAX
MSI DVD+/-RW 4X
PowerColor ATI 9600XT Ultra
DeathToCats is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 01:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to Toshiro Send a message via Yahoo to Toshiro
Default

I've been using Firefox for about a month. I haven't had any problems, except that Yahoo!'s Launch streaming audio and video wont work with it. Other than that, it's the best browser I've ever used. Everything just seems more convenient and faster than IE, and I make frequent use of the handy and well-placed Google search bar that comes already in Firefox.... And to think it's only version 0.8!

I'm sticking with Firefox until they come up with something even better, which looks unlikely for years to come. ^_^
__________________
Make: eMachines
OS: WinXP Pro
Mobo: Gigabyte 8VM533M-RZ
CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Celeron
Vid: Gigabyte NVidia MX 4000 (128 MB DDR, TV out)
Sound: onboard
RAM: 512MB DDR
HD: 40GB (1:3 partitioned), 34GB
Drives: DVD R/RW and 16x DVD-ROM
Browser: FireFox
ISP: AT&T/SBC Yahoo! DSL
Toshiro is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 08:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

boycott IE. use Firefox.
__________________

subdivizion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.