Moving office to my Desktop...How? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2007, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Moving office to my Desktop...How?

I would like to take Office Standard Edition 2003 off my notebook and put it on my new desktop I just built. How do I properly do that if it is even possible?

Thanks guys,

Derek
__________________

__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

-buy a new version

-Connect the 2 computers and move the program files over

-Connect the 2 computers and access it through your laptop

-try the re-install disc's but the key might not work
__________________

GSM CEO is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

When talking about the program file movement, you are talking about capturing all the files in the program file on the C: drive. If so, I can't find a setup file for Office... I have been looking around.


Thanks for the help
Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

Mine is in program files just under ''Microsoft Office''

I think it might work if you transfer it over, and install the disc, im not shure, someone else shed some light...
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

Thanks for your replies CEO


Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

Hello,

From my knowledge, Office needs to be re-installed on that system using the installation disc.

I don't think you can just copy over the program files, or just run it remotely over the network because there's information in the registry which is required.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

Right on Alvin, I have done the install due to me being unsuccessful with just moving the files... Thanks

Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

You have to reinstall from the disk you can literally copy it over but it will be buggy. When you install from the cd it writes to the registries, when u copy it over it doesnt write to the reg. it just copies the files. It might work, and when u run it, it might auto repair itself into the registries. The safest thing to do is just use the same cd u used to install on ur laptop then use the same cd key and just install it on ur machine. The key shopuld work i do it all the time with mine, i have used my copy of office 2003 on about 5 different machines, u should be fine.
steak1986 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

Thanks for the replies...

Good to have some people that are willing to help us people that want to learn....

Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Moving office to my Desktop...How?

go aloha bob or vcom systemsuite 7
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.