Movies Won't Play - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2007, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Angry Movies Won't Play

Hi.
Movies won't play.
Avi, Vob.
Haven't confirmed MP4, MPG, or DVD discs.
Creative Media Player 5, VLC Media Player, WMP.
Have installed individual codecs and codec packs.
G-spot is installed.
This began two weeks ago out of nowhere.
Please help.

Computer Specs:
C2D 6420
Asus P5N-E
2GB Ballistix
2x 320 GB HD's
8800 GTS 320
Creative X-FI Gamer
Thermaltake Toughpower 850
Asus Sata DVD R/W
Zalman 9700
Windows XP Professional Edition

Temps:
idle: 35-40C
load: never tested

Can anyone advise as to how to check for any rogue codecs installed, and what should be done to play movies.
Thank you.
Jethro.
__________________

Jethro69 is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

are you using onboard graphics? I'd shoot for an all in one codec pack, and if that doesn't work, get a professional system clean, might have a virus clogging up the codecs. if using onboard graphics, make sure your drivers are current. that's all I can think of
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

I don't have onboard graphics. (8800 GTS)
I updated my Creative software.
I installed a codec pack.
I still can't play a movie. (The Godfather. Xvid 1.1.2 beta.)
I've run AVG, Ad-Aware.
Any suggestions???
Jethro.
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 02:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Sherlock 2.0

"The following codecs were found broken.

Audio Codecs

InterVideo Audio Decoder (F:\WINDOWS\System32\iviaudio.ax)
WavPack Audio Decoder (F:\WINDOWS\System32\WavPackDSDecoder.ax)

Video Codecs

CoreAVC Video Decoder (F:\WINDOWS\System32\CoreAVCDecoder.ax)
InterVideo Video Decoder (F:\WINDOWS\Systerm32\IVIVIDEO.ax)
VP6 Decompressor (F:\WINDOWS\System32\vp6dec.ax)
VP7 Decompressor (F:\WINDOWS\System32\vp7dec.ax)"

"The driver file for this codec was not found.
This probably means that the codec was not uninstalled properly"

Video Detective says the proper codecs are installed to play several movies, but my computer still hangs. Could these broken codecs be the reason I cannot play movies. If so, does anyone have copies of these that they can send to me via a torrent link, email attachment, etc.)
Thank you.
Jethro.
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Donlowad the KLite the CCCP and the AC3 Filter latest codecs. That should solve you problem. No need to go thru torrents or email. These are all available free.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 10:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Free-Codecs.com : Download K-Lite Codec Pack 3.4.5 FULL, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.4.5 STANDARD, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.4.5 BASIC : K-Lite Codec Pack is a collection of codecs and related tools

Combined Community Codec Pack

AC3Filter


All the files which Makaveli Said.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 10:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Yes thank you Raze. Those are the best codec packs that i have found for use on XP or Vista. With only 1 additional one for Vista. The Vista Codec pack.

With those installed there should never bee a broken codec nor any issue watching anything.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Thank you.
I installed those. I still can't play a movie.
Sound is good but video stops after a second.
The CPU spikes and the computer hangs.
Any ideas??
Jethro.
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ont.
Posts: 404
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

Hardware issue? plug your monitor into the main board for a check.
yosa is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Movies Won't Play

It wouldnt be the monitor. Cause if that was the case he couldnt log into Windows.

Unless the media you are trying to watch is HD and you dont have a HDCP compliant monitor.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files? Aesrin New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-01-2007 04:09 PM
Why does my Liteon DVD-ROM not play DVDs right? adam02 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-06-2007 02:39 PM
How do I put an AVI/MPEG on a DVD and have it play? southfield Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-27-2007 01:35 PM
Strange Problem - Cannot get mp3 or wma files to play but wav files will play..read afulls04 Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 04-23-2007 04:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.