Move desktop to different partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Move desktop to different partition

I would like to move the "desktop" folder to another partition. By default it is located in docs & settings on the Windows volume.

How do I move it so that every file I drop on my desktop get's stored in D:/desktop for example?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You should start by looking for the reg string with the desktop path in it. I think you can alter this string to the new path.
I don't know how your OS will respond to this alteration. I see instability in its future.


There are many system files that depend on the desktop settings within your registry. I don't see it working properly. Have you heard of this working before Major ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. I will maybe try it later on tonight.
I hope it's possible. It would save me a lot of time if Windows stops booting. Happend to me a few weeks ago (nasty virus). I want to move the desktop cause I prefer to store some files on my desktop cause it's the most efficient way when working.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I think that windows will actually re-create your desktop folder in your local profile if every string is not modified. I will do some research and let you know...

You may want to ask Warez about this... He has a lot of tricks up his sleeves when it comes to modifying the OS.
__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.