Mouse doesn't respond over hyperlinks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default Xp keeps rebooting

I'm repairing a computer that doesn't respond over hyperlinks every once in a while. On my computer they do respond so i know that they arent broken links. I've ran norton and avg. nothing found. One other think, Iv'e already made another thread about this but no working responces. My search and windows update icons in my start menu do not work. Plz help me
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

go in internet explorer, click tools -> internet options.

go to the general tab, click colors at the bottom, click the appropriate color settings for hyperlinks.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

i did what u told me to do and now the computer is rebooting at xp load screen........ this can't be good.
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Question

any luck.......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 08:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

lol, nope. I dono what to do. Not my computer. You think it could be bad ram? All my probs were update, search and shutdown buttons do not work. and now the computer keeps rebooting..... what you think?
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you try that reg file i posted?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

ya. thats when it all started. lol. i know that should have fixed the prob. can't say this is the first timke this has happened either. just can't remember the solution. other than reinstalling windows. but the owner said reinstalling windows is a negetive...
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

now xp keeps rebooting? I seen that you changed it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

ya, i thought that might be the biggest issue right now lol. after i added the reg key and repaired the os from the screen u said. it rebooted and everytime it ges to the loading windows xp screen it reboots again
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.