Mounting split files? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2007, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Default Mounting split files?

I just got a program that is in 87 smaller files. I found some freeware to join all the pieces into the 4GB file, but neither PowerISO, Alcohol or Daemon can mount it. How am I supposed to deal with these split files?
__________________

Space_Coyote is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Mounting split files?

Are they rar files? Do they end in .r## ? If so..go download WinRAR, and just right click on eny of the files > extract here (or to extract to a differetn location, extract to other...).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Mounting split files?

No, I've had those before and they extracted fine. These are like blah.001, blah.002 etc. I used HJSplit (?) and it joined them all to a huge file, but there is no .iso extension (or any) and none of my mounting programs work, even if I rename it blah.iso.
Space_Coyote is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Re: Mounting split files?

that is also a split archive. If you have a .rar file, you are going to want to extract the contents of that file. If theres no .rar, simply open up the lowest numbered file (ie xxxx.000 or xxx.001)
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Mounting split files?

Like I said in my above post =P. You don't necesarrily have to do that on the lowest numbered file (I sometimes don't, and it works fine). And, Space_Coytoe.. is it even supposed to be an ISO? Cuz there's a lot of different image file formats, out there (UIF, DAA, to name a few).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Mounting split files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Space_Coyote View Post
No, I've had those before and they extracted fine. These are like blah.001, blah.002 etc. I used HJSplit (?) and it joined them all to a huge file, but there is no .iso extension (or any) and none of my mounting programs work, even if I rename it blah.iso.
It wouldn't work anyway due to invalid code, I think you should use a search machine to find a program to unrar those files, that did I when couldn't unrar daa files and found power iso, either there must be something similar to unrar those files or those files are fake.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Mounting split files?

if you are talking about File.000, 001, 002, 003 etc. Then it is problaly a hjsplit file but like you said it doesn't work you are problaly ending up with something called "File", remember that PANTHEON released the Windows vista dvd in this manner 000,001,002,003...0047 nobody knew how to open it but all you had to do was right click and extract here. Hope that clears it up otherwise you got a f'd up file
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can no longer burn Microsoft ISO (or other CD image files) Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-09-2007 05:32 PM
AVG changing files??? fifreak3 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-07-2007 12:27 AM
I have a problem with Sony Vegas and how it handles .avi files On A Mission Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-06-2007 08:14 PM
Strange Problem - Cannot get mp3 or wma files to play but wav files will play..read afulls04 Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 04-23-2007 04:57 AM
access to synchronized files trini_dad Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-19-2007 02:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.