motherboard question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default motherboard question?

hey i am looking to buy a PNY FX 5700ve 256mb video card. i was looking at the specs and for interface it says 4x/8x AGP however under system requirments it says just 8x compatible mother board. i dont kno if it will work or not.

any help would be great.

link
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133136
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

#1. It will be fine
#2. Dont buy PNY
#3. If you can spend like $180, get the 6600GT. You will be happy you did.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you prolly will be able to set either 4x or 8x through bios. set to 8x and you should be ok.
office politics is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

but my mother board is a 4x AGP will it still work
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Yes
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok thanx for your help and ill take into mind the pny thing i might just get an NVidia 5700 anything is better that wut i have now tho

Nvidia mx 420 64mb
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

If there is ONE thing you NEVER CHEAP OUT on it is the motherboard.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya im not buying another motherboard just the video card i need sumthing that will run battlefiled vietnam and battlefield 1942 in high res and the card i have sure as hell doesnt do that lol
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.