Most stable OS of all time (PC based) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2003, 04:28 PM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 34
Default best os ??

I really like XP pro and I had really tried to work at it to keep it.
After many different approaches to get to know this system better and buying a know how book on XP and a new hard drive etc.
The XP pro had fatal crashes that I could not recover my data from not once but a few times within a 2-month period. Maybe is my lack of experience on my part. And yes I had other OS system that has had crashes but I could always recover from them. But with win XP pro I felt helpless. I’m back with win 2k pro so far so good and I’m happy so to each its own if win XP had work for you then more power to you. I gave up on XP for now!
__________________

pete is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 03:42 AM   #42 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I used to have Windows 98 SE, sometimes it crashed about 10 seconds after logging on, sometimes, for no apparent reason, it just 'quit' a game right when I was in the middle of a mission and hadn't saved, and sometimes if I left it idle for an hour and went back to it, it was frozen
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 03:56 AM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Default

I think thats not the right question to ask when it comes to Windows, Whats the worst software Bill Gates has to offer?
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:47 AM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Smile

Windows ME!
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 08:48 PM   #45 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Win ME!
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.