moding boot screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Talking moding boot screen?

is there anyway to mod your boot screen? like change te background? change the load bar? have a little moving picture in the background or something like that?
i remember seing a bender boot screen on some website along time ago hat u could dl, so i think its possible.
anyone out there know how to do it?:beard:
__________________

eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Go to http://www.tgtsoft.com/ and get stylexp. Its a great program that lets you change the boot screen (among other things).

After you get it, you can go to www.themexp.org and get new screens.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

whoa thats aweosme, thanksa lot
cept that first site u have to pay for it or what?
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

first 30 days are free but the boot screen will stay provided that you keep it installed even though you can't use the program
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Oh God I just tried that lol, and now my Windows is stuck in a continuous reboot when it starts! I shouldn't mess with stuff lol.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

is there a way to keep windwos all how it is regularly? without anything from that style XP besides the boot screen?
in other words can i change nothing but the boot screen?
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Think about this logically. It changed the "boot screen." How did it do that? most likely by changing the registry...
hint hint
-blitze

PS
copy the registry first
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 123
Default

there is a way to change the background color but that is all i know how to do
__________________
<img src=\"http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=15tfnhP&i=56\">
<font size=1>Asus P5P800 Mobo, Intel P4 2.8Ghz,1Gb (2x512)Corsair Value Select Ram,BFG Tech 6800 OC,19\" Sony LCD monitor,Seagate 80GB Hard drive,Samsung DVD burner<and a crap power supply that just went out on me</font>
Troubledyouth is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I would stay away from modifying boot screens. You could be asking for trouble. Especially if you need to do somekind of repair with XP. I did this once before and then system would constantly reboot. Before I knew how to fix it, I just reformatted. Be careful
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

is there like a windows way to change the background or even the color?
__________________

eatbutt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.