Modem problem with Win2k - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2003, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default Modem problem with Win2k

I just installed Windows 2000 yesterday. I first tried to upgrade from Win98 to Win2k but it messed up because i tried convertign from a fat16 to whatever that one is for NT. Anyway...i just did a clean install of Win2k on my second harddrive and it works fine and dandy, BUT, my modem doesn't seem to want to work. I know for a fact that all my settings on the dial up connection are correct. I didn't have much time to mess with it this morning because i had to goto school, but i went ahead and uninstalled the whole modem from the device manager. When i get home i'll try to reinstall it, and if you still don't work i'll get on my dads computer and see if i can find some updated drivers. I'm thinking that it is MOST LIKELY the drivers. Because it worked fine in Win95, and Win98. I'm not completely sure what brand modem it is so when i get home i'll open the case up and see.

Anyone have any comments on this one?
I just need someone to back me up on the whole driver theory.
__________________

Kevin is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

Alright...
Drivers (also called ‘controllers’) act as an interface between the operating system and the devices that make up a computer to enable all the components to ‘understand’ each other and work together.

In the case of a graphics card, the driver informs the operating system of the different screen resolutions it supports (number of colours, frequency of updates, resolution, etc.)

Although operating systems already include controllers for the most commonly used peripherals on the market, the manufacturers modify them from time to time to improve their performance or to add extra features.
__________________

__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

I think that you hit it on the head with the drivers,,,

pull the card and get the manufacture name off the board, or if not get the chip ID number and do a search on both with a META SEARCH engine,, add the words " +drivers+ windows 2000 " in your search line and something will pop up

most manufacturer's have 2k drivers , so you should be in pretty good straights to find something,,

happy hunting!
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

oh ,,

you can also check

http://www.windrivers.com

username: drivers
password : all

search in there too
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 09:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

First of all, CrashAbbott, that info does not work for windrivers.com it works for driverguide.com but the drive they have its to big for me to move form one comp, to another. it is 4.46mb and a floppy will only hold 1.44

Second of all, i took my modem out and copied down the FCC ID and then went to the FCC site and searched for it and found out it was made by CIS Technology Inc....

Now i can't find the right drivers for my modem.
__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

see if any your modem is listed in this page....

http://www.modem-drivers.com/companies/218.htm
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

YYAAHHHHOOOOO

I finally fixed it turns out it wasn't ANYTHING to do with the drivers LOL...

There was a conflict with COM2 and COM3 and my modem is on COM3....so i changed the interupt request # for COM3 and Walah....it amediately recognized my modem LMAO...

I feel to darn stupid now.
__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

Oh yea.....thanks everybody who replied and tried helping....now its my turn to go help others
__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

hey,,
glad ya got it going

plus, i cant keep all the info in my mind straight all the time, but thanks for jogging my memory on the drivers guide

soorry that you dont have a burner... but ,, if you have a usb port on your machine, you can pick up a mini usb keychain drive -32mb- for about 40 bucks...save a lot of headaches with transferring drivers

maybe for the future?
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-14-2003, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

oh yea...ive seen those keychain things they are cool....sadly my computer is like 6 years old and was built by someone i dunno...and i have no usb ports

if i can find a dang job ill upgrade but until then im stuck with what i got....

LMAO: heres some stats dont laugh:

RAM: 32mb
PROCESSOR: Pentium II with MMX Support (233mhz)
Original HD Size: 3gigs
My second HD Size: 4gigs

thats enough...i know it blows....but it'll do for now.
__________________

__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.