Missing System32 Folder (Rut-roh!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Thumbs down Missing System32 Folder (Rut-roh!)

While working on her term paper due the next day, my friend claimed her printer jammed up and couldn't restart her Dell laptop running Windows XP. So she kills the power and reboots. Upon reboot, a message appears saying:
"the following folder has been corrupted or is missing."
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM
"Press 'r' to enter the XP Recovery Console to attempt to repair the missing folder."

I did so, using the supplied XP Install/Restore disk. Upon entering the repair console, I'm taken to a screen where I select the drive I want to "operate" on (C: ). I choose option 1, the C: drive, and I get a command prompt. From there I don't know what the heck to do.

I'm not sure that she may have mistakenly deleted or moved this folder, so I don't know what brought this on unless the OS/HD is crashing.

Keep in mind that reformatting is a last resort, and would preferably be avoided if there is any way of repairing this.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

I had a similar problem with a machine here at work running win2k. Its a corrupted registry. This should help:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;307545
__________________

Cody is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

That looks good. Can't wait to give it a shot when I get home from work. I may have to get her to sign a waiver just in case that wipes everything out.
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Try the install option. It should give you a repair or restore option after that. It should reload the os without formating and keep all other files.
derrmc is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

Cody's link was "fun" to work with. But it got the results I wanted. No data loss, back to normal. Thanks!
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

Good stuff. No Problem.
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.