Missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 02:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the help so far.

Currently I'm back on my PC and I think it is stable but I can't access anything on the start menu:

It either says: "The action is only valid for products that are currently installed"

OR

"The parameter is incorrect".

Anyway I can fix this up quickly without manually adding the shortcuts or something?
__________________

chopz is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Actually I realised most of the programs aren't recognised/installed(?) when I tried to run a video as seen below...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg help.jpg (20.2 KB, 44 views)
__________________

chopz is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to Microsoft's Description of the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility page.Here
Scroll down and click the link Download the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility package now.
Save the file on your Desktop.
Double-click on the downloaded file to install the Windows Installer Clean Up utility.

To remove traces of your installation from your computer:
Go to Start > Programs > Windows Install Clean Up to launch the Windows Installer Clean Up.
In the dialog that appears, select the installation you want to uninstall.
Click Remove.
Launch Windows Explorer by pressing Windows key + E or select Start > Explore.
Go to the location where the installation has installed the files, usually C:\Program Files\NameofCompanyorApplication, and manually delete them. To do this, select all the files (Ctrl +A or Edit > Select All) and hit the Delete key.

When installing an application for the first time
Error 1605 occurs when the installation thinks that the application has already been installed once on your computer. This causes the installation to run in Maintenance mode; however, it fails in the process because a previous instance of this installation does not exist on your computer. One of the reasons why this happens is because a property called REINSTALLMODE has been set incorrectly within the installation. Follow these steps to run the installation with the correct REINSTALLMODE property.

Select Start > Run.
In the Open field, type
Windows NT 4.0, 2000. or XP: cmd.exe and click OK.
Windows 95 / 98 or ME: command.com and click OK.
At the MS-DOS prompt, type in the path, or location, of setup.exe along with the REINSTALLMODE property, e.g., <PATH>\setup.exe /V"REINSTALLMODE="omus"

Press Enter. This runs the installation again with the correctly set property.

Install the ISScript engine
Another known solution to this issue is to install the ISScript engine on your computer. To install the ISScript engine, refer to Update to the Latest InstallShield Installation Engines.

ISScript
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Hey I've tried installing the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility package a few times and it kept restarting. Now when I finally suceeded and I try to access it on the start menu - I cannot reach the file as it says "Window Explorer has enocuntered a problem and needs to close". Hopefully when I restart the PC, i'll be able to access All Programs and launch the file.

I am unsure about what to delete though...

Thanks again.
chopz is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you manage to get ahold on the xp cd so you can do a repair?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I don't think I'll be able to get it anytime soon.
chopz is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need to get it from somewhere even if you have to download....this could help you out a lot.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

You know where I can download it?
chopz is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Yup....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.