Missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

Hey guys,

I followed all the instructions on: http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;307545

After part 2 I could actually access Windows but after completing the rest of the instructions now it firstly goes to screen where I can choose: safe mode, last known good configuration, normally etc... and I've tried all of them and when it gets to the XP loading screen it just restarts automatically.

Any suggestions please?

Help will be much appreciated.
__________________

chopz is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so go as far as you did before but dont continue with the rest of the instructions....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Hi, thanks for the reply.

Is there anyway I can undo part 2-4?

Or do I just redo part 1 again?

Cheers.
chopz is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Nope. do it all again til you get to the part that you said was fine and dont go any farther....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks`man.

But I think my continual restarts will continue. Is there anyway to stop them? I heard that they're worms or something.

How do I get rid of the unexpected restarts?
chopz is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Oh yeh forgot to mention - when I repeat part 1 I'm just overwriting the same thing... Is that what it is supposed to do?
chopz is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what about a windows repair?

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Yeh I don't have the XP CD on me at the moment and it's an urgent matter.

Thanks anyway.

So do I just overwrite the old files?
chopz is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Yup, overwrite them.......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Detail your system , and the apps you are running when this happens.
__________________

JohnnyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.