Missing/Corrupt Ntoskrnl.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2005, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default Missing/Corrupt Ntoskrnl.exe

I installed the service pack 2 on XP and upon restarting this message came up along with windows cannot start. I have inserted the Win XP disc but it wont load upon reboot. Losing the data on the HD isnt really and option. Is there a way of fixing this?
__________________

milanbaros is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 10:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What is the exact error message?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Read through the link below, scroll down just a bit to get to the XP instructions. I hope this helps ya.

Click here.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Terencentanio Send a message via Yahoo to Terencentanio
Default

*dropkicks self*
__________________
* Your high priced security consultant\'s plane ticket: $1500
* Your high priced security consultant\'s time: $200/hour
* RealSecure nodes all over your company: $200,000
* Getting owned by 0day: Priceless
Terencentanio is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I had the same problem on my machine when I tried to install SP2. Turned out that it was my boot screen changer that caused the problem, for it used the old SP1 ntoskrnl.exe file version, not the new SP2 one.

Your problem may be because of something else, but it is very easily fixed. You can simply uninstall SP2 from your XP machine to get it working again. You can approach this in two ways:

The first is uninstalling it in safe mode, from add or remove programs, or by going into run in safe mode and running the uninstallation program: c:\windows\$NtServicePackUninstall$\spuninst\spuni nst.exe

However, if you can't get into safe mode because your computer boots somewhere during the loading process, you can uninstall SP2 within the command line interface of the Windows XP Recovery Console. You'll need your XP CD for this, or simply access it on your machine if it is installed on your hard drive. At the command prompt, type: cd $ntservicepackuninstall$\spuninst then enter. Once you've changed directories, type: batch spuninst.txt then enter.

You can only perform an uninstallation if you have retained the backup SP1 files on your Hard Drive. The complete methods in greater detail are available here:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;875350

Good luck!
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.