Missing/Corrupt File - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2005, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72
Question Missing/Corrupt File


I periodically run Disc Cleanup and delete everything, but this particular time I noticed alot of files under the 'Catalog files for the Content Indexer'. I cannot recall ever seeing anything under that Description before. Nontheless, I ran it. It was taking a very long time. I then noticed a Windows Protection File window appear stating something about 'Unrecognized Files', and to insert the appropriate cd. One said something about an ActiveX cd (don't have one of those). I canceled about 3 different similar prompts.
When it completed, all my Desktop icons were gone with the exception of the standard My Computer, My Documents, Network Places, & I.E.
So I restarted my pc...and now I get a black screen that says: WINDOWS COULD NOT START BECAUSE THE FOLLOWING FILE IS MISSING OR CORRUPT: <Windows root>\system32\hal.dll. Please re-install a copy of the above file.
I wish I knew how to do that!!
Any assistance/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

cway is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Do a repair install. Instructions are in my sig.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72

I apologize...Can you please elaborate as to what "Instructions are in my sig." means!
I'm a 'newbie' Techie...lol

cway is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

The picture and everything underneath it are the sig.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72

Thx for the reply...
I have tried this...but, when I get to step 2, there is no option for the "To repair the selected Windows XP installation, press R".
Need further assistance from here!!

Any suggestions??
cway is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

you have to set your bios to boot from CD, then after Cd disc gets to menu, tell it to install, itll detect a previous install then u tell it to repair. from there itll computer files over and go through a setup program on reboot.

if this isn't whats going on try it again. cause there should be that option.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 05:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Go to www.yahoo.com
Go to Login
Login with this username: proplusmsiforyou@yahoo.com
Login with this password: thisisforyou

I sent hal.dll in zip format to this email address. Just log in, unzip and install it in System32 folder and see if that helps.

Osiris is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72

Hello Monster,
Since the computer i'm trying to fix does not boot up...can I copy it to a cd on a laptop i am borrowing...then put it in the cd drive of the laptop that is down?
I apologize...i'm a little new to the I.T. field!!

cway is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 10:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72

there is no email in there...but there is a proplus.zip file in the Pro Plus.MSI for Office folder.
Is this the zip file???

cway is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 10:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

A simple recovery with the install cd will work.

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.