MIRC at Startup! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2004, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Default MIRC at Startup!

Hi!
I've got a Windows 2000 machine that keeps starting MIRC on startup, and I think it got there through Kazaa. However, it's not in the Add/Remove programs list. Norton antivirus (latest definitions) doesn't detect anything wrong. I've completely removed Kazaa and every program I could find that it has installed. I've checked the startup items in the registry and there's nothing unusual. In fact, I searched the registry and hard drive and removed every trace of MIRC I could find. I've also run Spybot and Adaware, removing everything that it found. I'm at at my wit's end here! Does anybody have any suggestions?
Thanks a million!
-Dan
__________________

genistas is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u
Default

Hey Dan, I think that you must have already taken care of the Run, RunOnce, RunServices in the registry and also you must have taken care of the startup files from msconfig....

What I can suggest you is that there is a simple logic, as you said that the system starts the MIRC - which means that the program file has got to be there somewhere on the system - Just search for mirc32.exe or mirc.exe and delete the same - hope this works or else if this does not help you then the mirc would be integrated into something else that would be probably difficult to get to - but HijackThis will help then... lets hope 4 the best!!
__________________

param4u is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, totally agree.....also....you may just want to take a screen shot of your registry entries in this location. Some of these virus-related/adware related tend to disguise themselves as system services....only difference is that they will add a "_" or something like that.
Post a screen shot and we can give you a good inclination of what processes you do not need to be running.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 09:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

check the contents of your startup folder and check the msconfig startup options
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

2000 doesn't have msconfig by default.....Dan would have to copy it and place it into the system root\system32 folder...

http://www.evozero.gamma.timdorr.com.../s_startup.htm

-Mike

(Let me know if the pictures aren't showing up)
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Default

You're right, it doesn't. I don't have the particular computer in front of me, and won't be back to work on it until tomorrow, but I'll take these ideas with me, and if I don't fix it, I'll let you know and post a screen shot. Thanks guys!
-Dan
genistas is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Default

Problem solved and here's what I found. HiJackThis, Adaware, Spybot, and Norton never detected the file running from startup. MIRC was cleverly disquised in the \winnt\system32 folder as task32.exe, which I THOUGHT was a legitimate file. It was only after I dowloaded MSCONFIG and started disabling services and startup items that I narrowed it down to that file.
Thanks for all of your help!
-Dan
genistas is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yup, seen that one before....glad you were able to catch it!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 10:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to who.cares
Default

read my post, nice little program about startup (i think thats what it is called)

POST 30!!!!
__________________

who.cares is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.