Millenium - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2004, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Millenium

I tried to reformat a harddrive with millenium on it and put windows xp, After the computer starts loading xp, it only gives a blank blue screen. Any Ideas to what is doing this, I tried to different harddrives, both of them do the same thing, I reformated it with a windows 98 boot disk.
__________________

waterfalls3232 is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

How are u booting up the sytem prior to installation ... Are u using the XP cd itself ..or are u bootin' frm some other media n' then tryin' to install.

How long have u waited ..on this blank blue screen ... Does it make any progress at all..

N' yes ..mention ur sys. config
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

This is a friend's computer, I built my own about a year, ago.
This computer is an old gateway, 800 celeron processor, millenium came with it, but everytime she tried to install a program it would get half-way then the computer would restart by itself without installing anything. THe internet connection was really good and fast, no problem connecting to any website's, so I figured it was the operating system. I first booted from a windows 98 boot disk, then I deleted the primary partion. I put in the windows xp disk and restarted the CPU and change the setup to boot from the cd-rom. Once it booted it ask me if I wanted to install a fresh copy of windows xp, I hit enter and ask me if I wanted to create a partion for xp, I hit enter and then it should various files being transferred on the bottom of the screen, after they finished installing the screen goes blank(Blue Screen), I even left it on for 12 hours and the screen was still blank.
waterfalls3232 is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Hmmm .. .. What's the memory on the system ?.... Also is the screen totally blank ... or does it stop at the coping file stage.

N' yes .. is the sytem by any chance running a PCI video card?
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

256 memory, it turns blue, but it as a part on the bottom that is white and it shows some files being copied, then that screen turns off and the whole screen stays blue., I'll have to check and see, but I don't think it is.
waterfalls3232 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Try replacing the memeory with memeory form your old system, also if you still can... defrag the ME Partition.
joeline is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I'm guessin' a bit here .. since am not totally sure ..if the screen ur seeing is the same thing that i think it is.....

If the screen freezes when it is copyin' the files ..plz make a note of the file ..which it is copying when it freezes....
This could be occuring due to bad media ... Does ur cdrom keep reading ..when the screen freeze's ..or does it totally stop reading?

If it's not a media issue ..then it could be narrowed down to 2 other things ... the memory ...or display card.
Plz reconfirm if u have an PCI video card ..if so which one.. ?
If u have other memory modules free ..try using them.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

its ME i had the same problem once, as soon as you let that crappy os on your hard disk it creates problems for everything, format the whole disk and only put xp on
__________________

__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.