Microsoft XP Corporate Pirate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default Microsoft XP Corporate Pirate

On another computer I'm using Microsoft coporate edition xp that I borrowed from a friend. I just have a few questions.
1. Is it alright to get updates from microsoft.com or will they get me?
2. When I start my computer, very old one, it says floppy disk failed (40), however when I log into XP it says that a floppy drive has been detected and installed. Should I worry about this or is XP fixing this everytime I boot up?
3. I'm have a D-Link 524 wireless router running at protocol 802.11b. Is it easy as getting a wireless desktop card and installing it to get a wireless network, or would I have to do more?
4. Also I have another hard drive, not installed yet, about 10 GB that is known to be corrupted. There is some information that I want. Can someone help me through the process of getting that information or is it too late?

Here's all the information I know about my computer:
AMD/ K-D 450 MHz 192 mb ram 8GB hard drive, 32mb Nvidia graphics card, 54mps ethernet 40x cdrom

Well thanks for all your help.
__________________

newbienthehouse is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

1.Did you use your friends CD key?
2.Are you running two OS's or just the XP?If XP fixes it does this happen the next time you boot into XP?
3.All you would have to do is get a wireless PCI card 802.11b and you would be good to go.Just enter your SSID name.
4.Just set the second hard drive jumpers to slave and attempt to get the data you need.The the drive is to corrupted then it depends on what the data is as far as saving it.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Microsoft will get your PC identification through the pirated version of XP, track it to your residential address and post your personal information at Microsoft Headquarters for Bill Gates to analyze.

Discussing how to use pirated software, warez, cracks etc etc is not allowed here.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Tribalsun is correct in the pirated edtion,I was just wandering if a valid CD key was used.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tribalsun
Microsoft will get your PC identification through the pirated version of XP, track it to your residential address and post your personal information at Microsoft Headquarters for Bill Gates to analyze.

Discussing how to use pirated software, warez, cracks etc etc is not allowed here.

I dont think so...I've been using a pirtated edition of XP Pro Corp for 3 years now, the same cd, never had a problem. Get all my updates, etc.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Well just to let you know, on my regular computer I am running a legal version of Windows XP Home edition. On my old computer I tried upgrading and that didn't work b/c the cd was messed up and I didn't want to talk to people in Bangladesh.

To answer other questions.
1. Yes I entered in the CD key with no problems.
2. I'm running just one OS, that is Windows XP corporate edition. After XP finishes fixing the floppy drive, I restart and the same thing happens again and again.
3. What is the SSID name?
4. A weird thing has happened with my hard drive and cdrom. Both right now are running as a slave with no master. I guess I need to fix that before trying to see information on the corrupt hard drive. On the hard drive all I want is some papers I drew up a few years ago.
Thanks for your help.
newbienthehouse is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Also I have a yamaha external cd burner. Do you think XP will pick that up b/c I don't have the drivers?
newbienthehouse is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I dont think so...I've been using a pirtated edition of XP Pro Corp for 3 years now, the same cd, never had a problem. Get all my updates, etc.
I was being sarcastic in the 1st part of my reply.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

1.I asked if you used your friends CD key or do you actually have a valid CD key.
2.I would go through device manager and update the driver from windows/system32/drivers and see if that fixes it.
3.SSID (Service Set Identifier) is the name for a wireless network.Example Linksys default SSID is linksys.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I bought this copy from my friend who I believe supplied me one from an illegal source no doubt.
__________________

newbienthehouse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.