Microsoft Internet Explorer doesnt work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2004, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to djjeffa
Default Microsoft Internet Explorer doesnt work

I have a problem.
I have AOL 9.0 and my Microsoft Internet Explorer doesnt work. AOL uses IE for everything therefore I cant do antyhing with my AOL stuff, I cant get the live help, look at profiles NOTHING! I tried uninstalling both. I cant uninstall my IE I did it and it messed my whole computer up so good thing I have XP and went back to a system restore point. I try updateing my IE but it keeps saying I have the latest one so it wont. I have tried for hours to figure this out and I cant
__________________

djjeffa is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 11:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;318378
go there and do the registry tweak it describes so windows will think ie isnt installed and then go here
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/...p1/default.asp
and dload ie 6 sp1 and reinstall
__________________

__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Quick, easy, affordable fix: Get rid of AOL. You'll thank me later.
__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Emily
Quick, easy, affordable fix: Get rid of AOL. You'll thank me later.
damn how could i have forgotten to mention that, also forget ie and get mozilla
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

(its all in the sig)
__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Question

I am curious as to what the advantages are for using Mozilla?

Also, for some reason, Mozilla reminds me a lot like Netscape. Did they just change the name or is it a coincidence that they feel almost the same?
godai73 is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 08:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Default

I wouldn't say Mozilla is better than IE (yes I would). But I wouldn't say Mozilla is suppose to be better than IE but Mozilla a lot less bug than IE. It has a Netscape feel to it, but a better browser. Currently I still use IE as my main browser (I like IE until it begins to spit erros on every page)! When that happens I switch to Mozilla, which I use as my alternate browser.

Netscape actually was Mozilla start-up support (finacially): http://www.mozilla.org/foundation/
http://www.mozilla.org/press/mozilla-foundation.html
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.zilantyas.com\">Zilantyas Technology</a>
Professional Information Technology Solutions
zilantyas is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

regular mozilla is good, BUT GET FIREFOX, its twice as good.

I LOVE IT
__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Hi djjeffa, I agreed Emily if you don’t need any of AOL toolbars functionality and etc. just use IE only.
__________________

wade is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.