Microsoft = Greed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default Microsoft = Greed

So I format my pc, XP was not connecting to my router correctly and after much troubleshooting it seemed a format was the route to go.

I install 98se because for whatever reason the reinstall disks (not a full version) of XP that came with the pc are not installing correctly. Well I couldn't get the hotfixes I need for 98 because Mircosoft is charging for that now, thanks.

So..... I install the full version of XP that is running on my other PC now of course this is pirating if you read the terms of service, but I figure I can use the key for the XP copy that came with the PC (for the resourse disks that didn't work). Well of course that is not accepted. So now I have to go blow $100.00 to get another copy of XP... Merry Christmas.

BTW Time picked Bill Gates as man of the year.
__________________

souschef is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I don't understand why you are going to get a new copy of XP. You said that the disks weren't installing properly? Perhaps instead of a rant (that went in the wrong forum, anyways) asking for help might have been a more appropriate course of action.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Well your right about a more appropriate course of action.
Also I didn't see a rant fourm,sorry..But I do feel better getting that out of my system.

If I can muster up enough patience I may try trouble shooting the resource disks, I cannot remember the error off the top of my head (I think it said a file was corrupt). I just don't understand what could cause an error for a fresh install on a formated HD.
souschef is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 05:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Microsoft = Greed

Quote:
Originally posted by souschef
BTW Time picked Bill Gates as man of the year.
They didn't pick him because he started Microsoft

They picked him, his wife, and Bono because of their exploits for the underprivileged, especially in third-world countries.
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.