Message on startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Message on startup

Well, I recently removed some things (dvd43's startup, and qttask to stop Quicktime from starting on startup) on startup using msconfig via Run (something I didn't need coming up at start-up), and now I'm getting a message before Windows loads. The message gives me an option to boot into either Windows XP Home, or Windows Recovery Console. It only stays up for about 3 seconds, then boots into XP normally, but it's just kind of a nuisance. The following is in my Boot.ini tab on msconfig, but I didn't want to remove it, just in case I'd have adverse effects:

Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=3
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)paritition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
Should I just remove the "C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons" portion of it?

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Message on startup

what happens when you select check all boot paths?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Message on startup

When I do that, this message appears:

Code:
It appears that the following line in the BOOT.INI file does not refer to a valid operating system:
"C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Consol" /cmdcons"

Would you lik eto remove it from the BOOT.INI file?
Then it gives me a yes or No option.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Message on startup

select yes and reboot
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Message on startup

Thanks a lot, Warez =). It worked.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Message on startup

great
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Message on startup

Well no need for sarcasm =P.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error message: load needed DLLs for kernel Herringtrader Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-11-2007 09:57 AM
Limited or no connectivity message.... KillBoy PowerHead Microsoft XBox 15 06-04-2007 01:18 AM
Black Startup Screen in XP doodah12 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-22-2007 03:38 PM
folder opened during startup (???) dingdong-man Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-20-2007 05:34 AM
Startup prgrams Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-26-2007 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.