Mess with someone on a Network? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Mess with someone on a Network?

Hahaha, I was just reading this in another post kind of... I have buddies that come over a couple times a week, and always plug into my 5-port hub and we game/swap files/etc.... Is there anyway I can like screw around with him, not permantely damage anything but like kind of scare him... Or like shut his comp down with out him knowing it was me or something cool... ,,, Anybody know a program or a way to do this? As a JOKE!! I don't wanna format his comp or anything.... :-) although that would be cool. hahahhaha anything I can do???


thnx m8's
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

remote shutdown
google it, i g2 find one 2, i'll let u know if i find a good one, lemme know if u find a good one
lol
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Remote Shutdown,,,, wouldn't that be like us remotely connected, so he would know it was me if I was in a remote connection with him... right ??? or no...
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

I found 2, that look ok to me. I'll have to try them out the next time they come or to my home computer :-)

heres the links

-http://www.emco.is/remoteshutdown/rsdfeatures.html
-http://www.soft32.com/download_505.html

they both look decent.
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Sry to be posting so much but look @ this description,,,

Remote Shutdown 1.0 Review
RemoteShutdown allows to remotely (over the network) shutdown and power off or restart any Windows NT/2000/XP Workstation or Server. Additionally you can specify a message which will be displayed before the computer will be shutdown or restart.


thats the description ,,,, you could type like...


YOU HAVE LOOKED AT SO MUCH PORN WE WILL TURN YOUR COMPUTER OFF PLEASE REFORMAT OR CALL THIS NUMBER 1-800-PORN-FAG lol..... that would be awesome.... definetly trying this one out.... hahahahah
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

hahah i was thinking of doing that to my mom having it say fbi has tracked something or whatever and tell my sister to pound on the door and say FBI open up so my mom would flip out! haha that woulod be great
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

lol, dude.. that would literally make my mom, have a heartattack, no joke... lol.. she woudl flip because she half the time doesnt know how to turn the computer on,.,., so like when she accidently opens something she goes crazy... hahahaha that would be awesome though,..
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Well thats not nice but also deliciously evil at the same time. Could be used as a last day of the year joke over the school networks. Would it work on that massive scale (+1000 PCs) from a client computer.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

exactly my mom is a pharmacist shes on the computer 9 hours a day yet she cant turn mine on....
hey Tyler Just wonderin where did you get your firefox sig.. thats really sweet
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

What do you mean various members of TF made the community sig together it doesn't have firefox on it. Are you talking about the lovefox icon? I don't know a friend gave it to me over the instant messengers one day I liked it and now put it in my sig.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.