Memory virutal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Question Memory virutal

Hello, my pc has 1.024MB RAM and i would like to know if i need memory virtual or dont, if dont what i need to do to disable this option.

I ll appreciate everyone for the reply..
Thank you!!!
__________________

Rogerio is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

You do need it because windows uses it no matter how much ram you have.
You can however force windows to use a minimal amount of the page file by setting the following reg keys

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\ Control\Session Manager\Memory Management]
"DisablePagingExecutive"=dword:00000001
"LargeSystemCache"=dword:00000001
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

Thank you!!! give some advice then...i let no paging file,system managed or custom....?
Rogerio is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I personnaly use a custom fixed size page file i.e. the min and max size that same, this is to stop the situation where a variable sized page file becomes fragmented and increases fragmentation of other data on the drive. Very important to make sure the size is sufficient though, use the performance figures in the task manager to assess usage.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

i really appreciate everythig....thank you !!!
Rogerio is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e
Default

can someone help me out with this. i wanted to make the minimum and maximum sizes of the virtual memory file identical so if i have 1536mb in my maximum i just put that much in my initial size? is that right?
thx
__________________
Omerta-clan
Pub Server 69.93.145.61:27017
cs|s
Rook1e is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rook1e
can someone help me out with this. i wanted to make the minimum and maximum sizes of the virtual memory file identical so if i have 1536mb in my maximum i just put that much in my initial size? is that right?
thx
yes
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e
Default

sweet.. thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Omerta-clan
Pub Server 69.93.145.61:27017
cs|s
Rook1e is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.