Memory virus problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2004, 12:10 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79

hey, check out a program called "bazooka spyware scanner". Although it doesnt remove the adwares, spyware, and some viruses, it does detect them and gives u links on how to remove them. It did wonders for me even adaware couldn't do.

Also, if u have win XP, you can always do a system restore. I was like many of u long ago.....when i would spend countless hours trying to fix problems caused by a couple clicks of the button. Then i realized....why fix the problem when u can just act as if it never even happened by turning back the time. Seriously....people fuss for hours looking for spywares and viruses....when all it takes is 20 min to do a system restore. Thats 1 of the few things i actually like about win XP

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 10:46 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558

I'm not too sure about that bazooka spyware scanner. A friend of mine ran that after Lavasoft's Ad-Aware, and Spybot, and it said it found 2 things. He didn't know how to edit his registry, so I had to come over to show him how. Not really, but couldn't pass up free beer.

I looked in the registry, and couldn't find any reference to the stuff that bazooka was saying it found. I think it was a ploy to get someone to spend the $30 on the paid version of the program that will remove that stuff.

<img src=\" s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 11:32 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to m3z

Here is a free anti-virus software that i found that is alot better than any other thing that is out there it will find anything and it is free

It found two viruses on my computer that Trendmicro, norton, or macafee could not fine so check it out it might be of some help.

Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8KNXP SATA 8X/4X AGP PRO
Processor:Pentium 4 3.4
Video: NVidia TNT2 RIVA, Sound Blaster Live
Ram: 4 gig of Kingston DDR Ram (3200)
Hard Drive:maxtor x2 120 gig ATA133 w/ 8meg buffer
m3z is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.