Memory usage help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 06:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default Memory usage help

Hi, my pc has recently started lagging massivly for no reason, my cpu usage is only at 1-4% at most times but my commit charge is at 960+. it only used to be at 200 max. is there any way i can sort this out?
__________________

maggot_corps is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

What is running in the background...how many programs are in your startup? Sounds to me like you have so many programs running in the background that your system is now accessing the page file for virtual memory...or your HD is heavily defragmented....or you have spyware/malware happening.????

Also, go to your dos prompt and type chkdsk /p. What happens?
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. ive attached a screenshot of task manager showing im running 39 processes and using 1848m/2463m and winlogon.exe using 309,884k what the hell is going on? When i start my pc up its using about 250m/2463m and it gradually goes up the longer my pc is running, i recently had a big bout of spyware attacks however i cleared or thought i cleared it using norton antivirus 2006, ad-aware, stinger, spybot, spy sweeper and spware blaster. None of these pick up any more spyware, norton sometimes says that C:\program files\roxshare\ace.dll is screwing something up but that directory doesn't even exist. any ideas people?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tasks1.jpg (38.3 KB, 28 views)
maggot_corps is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Note: winlogon.exe is also a process which is registered as the W32.Netsky.D@mm worm and the Backdoor.Prorat Trojan. The Netsky.D@mm worm is distributed via the Internet through e-mail and comes in the form of an e-mail message, in the hopes that you open it’s hostile attachment. The worm has it’s own SMTP engine which means it gathers E-mails from your local computer and re-distributes itself. In worst cases this worm can allow attackers to access your computer, stealing passwords and personal data. It is a registered security risk and should be removed immediately.
Determining whether this process is a virus or a Windows process depends on the directory location it executes or runs from in WinTasks.

So my guess is you have the Trojan. Since it is using so much memory. Check to see where the winlogon.exe file is being executed from. That will give some kinda clue if it is not logon for windows or the trojan.

Okay after re reading your post that thing that Norton is telling you about is the Trojan i would bet. That is what is causeing all your problems. Open my computer>Tools>Folder Options>View tab. From there click on the setting for show all files. Then go to My Computer>(Windows Drive)C:>Doc and Settings>User>Local Settings. Some where is there you should find the folder that has the file causing all the problems. Either Boot into Safe Mode and delete the file or run a virus scan to delete it. Also might want to try NOD32 from Eset to get rid of it. The trial version should work to do so.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Download and Install HighJackThis.
Please post the log below, or in the Spyware thread.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

cheers for the quick replies, much appreciated. had to edit this list out as it was unreadable.
maggot_corps is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

my bad thats quite hard to make out i'll attach a text file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (6.8 KB, 28 views)
maggot_corps is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

use your norton antivirus, and do a scan.
see if it finds viruses

make sure its updated as well..
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

yeah man just done it, updated virus definitions did a scan and it came up with nothing.
maggot_corps is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you by any chance installed any new software prior to this issue ?

Have you performed a repair on the OS ?

I have checked your HJT log, and it looks pretty clean to me.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.