Memory Upgrading Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2004, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
21
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Question Memory Upgrading Question

Howdy,
I was at Comp Usa, to buy a 512 memory stick for my Gateway M-350 notebook, and right now it has 2 - 256's memory sticks already that came from gateway's factory. The Comp Usa computer tech told me if I would have a upgraded the memory stick to a 512 memory stick and left one of the 256's to work with the 512 stick I wouldnt see much diffrence. Then the tech went on and on about his computer is faster because he has a gaming type computer. So I went home and spoke with gateway tech support about it and they told me if i woulda installed a 512 and left one of the 256's I would see alot of diffrence and it would be alot of faster to. Because I goto alot of graphic signature forum's, im a member of playstation 2 forum. The notebook is a:
Gateway M-350 Cs 504mb of ram, Windows Xp Home
__________________

__________________
Gateway M-350 (Notebook)
Intel-Pentium 4
2.6 Ghz
760-Mb Ram

Dell Latitude D-800 (Notebook)
512-Mb Ram
1.6 Mhz Processor
Gforce 4200 - Video Card
21 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Were you planning on purchasing the extra 512 from CompUSA? Or were you just there getting a formal opinion? I think that you may see a little bit of a difference even by replacing the 2 modules with 1 module of 512. Sounds like it wouls be the same....and, yes, the amount of RAM would be. But since the entire module is accessible via one communication link make the difference. The difference is going to be there but it may be so insignificant that you may not actually "see" the difference. The question will be.....will the price justify the difference in performance and vise versa. You can always return the RAM if it doesn't work out ya know?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
21
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Default

I was planning to buy a 512 stick just one of em, and use it with a 256 stick thats already in there from compusa. And take out the other 256 stick. I think I would see a diffrence with the 512 working with the 256. The price on gateway's website for the 512 stick is about 229.00 compared to 129.99 at compusa. I wanted to buy the stick i was all ready for it, until the computer tech went on and on about it
__________________
Gateway M-350 (Notebook)
Intel-Pentium 4
2.6 Ghz
760-Mb Ram

Dell Latitude D-800 (Notebook)
512-Mb Ram
1.6 Mhz Processor
Gforce 4200 - Video Card
21 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 04:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ive heard mixing RAM can have bad effects, is it possible for you to get matching 512's?
upside: you'd have 512MB extra and guaranteed no probs with diff brand sticks
downside: it costs more
if mixing the 512MB stick with the 256 will also make it faster, then by all means get it. you can always return it if you're not satisfied
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to comp_guy225
Default

130 sounds like a lot. but i mix memory modules all the time and have never had a problem. If you do anything that requires a lot of memory, it is better to go with the combined 768 instead of just the 512. You can never have to much memory, you'll need it eventually. If you buy your memory online, you might be able to get it cheaper. I suggest www.newegg.com. They ship fast and are trustworthy.
comp_guy225 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
ive heard mixing RAM can have bad effects, is it possible for you to get matching 512's?
That's rubbish. I've mixed different sizes before and have never had a problem. The only time where you might (emphasis on might) have a problem is when you mix different brands and you have an old MB that has banks of 2 or 4 and have to install in pairs. As the wafer chips might come from different lots sold to various vendors, it might cause an odd issue with such older MBs. But even so, such problems would be so few and far between I doubt there's any need for concern.

Where you might have gotten confused is perhaps you heard someone say that certain PCs/laptops use proprietary components. i.e. Compaq is notoriously known for using RAM modules designed to work only for their motherboards. In such a case, you're forced to buy memory sticks only from Comcrap as using other brands will cause lock-ups/issues, etc.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
21
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Default

What im gonna do is 3rd of next month im gonna buy that combined 768 from that newegg.com website or see what they recommend, I cant really afford those prices at gateway
__________________
Gateway M-350 (Notebook)
Intel-Pentium 4
2.6 Ghz
760-Mb Ram

Dell Latitude D-800 (Notebook)
512-Mb Ram
1.6 Mhz Processor
Gforce 4200 - Video Card
21 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Crucial.com is another great website for memory. They are owned by Micron and they are a 1st-tier manufacturer - their quality is excellent and offer a lifetime warranty on all their memory modules.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
21
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Default

Alrighty I appreciate it im gonna see what they have
__________________
Gateway M-350 (Notebook)
Intel-Pentium 4
2.6 Ghz
760-Mb Ram

Dell Latitude D-800 (Notebook)
512-Mb Ram
1.6 Mhz Processor
Gforce 4200 - Video Card
21 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

had to delete the beginning of this... didn't read the post right, so if you replied to the previous message I misread it... anyhow I've heard the stories of mixmatched memory causing problems, too. however, I've never experienced it before and so doubt it. until Ive seen it or know someone who has, then its just a fairy tale
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.