Memory Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Default Memory Error

Hi,

I built my dad a computer a while ago and when I set it up and everything it was fine. Later he started telling me that he kept getting error messages and that I had to fix it. This isn't my first time building a computer either. I checked to make sure the RAM was correctly inserted, and I made sure that the RAM I got is compatible with all the other hardware, so I know that is not the problem. I am not sure if it is something he installed or what, but this is the error message:

The instruction at "0x07afacc" referenced memory at "0x00000014". The memory could not be "read".

Something is wrong with the memory but I can't figure it out. All the programs he runs when I look into the task manager to see the mem usage, they aren't at crazy amounts or anything. There are sometimes error messages about virtual memory, so I tried to mess around with the pagefile, but had no luck. If anyone could help me out here I would truly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT:

One more thing I want to add is the error messages I got were from Photoshop.exe and mmc.exe. I don't know if there are others but this is what my dad showed me.
__________________

tedmp0816 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Memory Error

Have you tried running MemTest86 to make sure the RAM is good? That is doesnt have any erros itself?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Memory Error

Could be a defective RAM. Run Memtest86.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Memory Error

K I will try that and then post back,
tedmp0816 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Memory Error

Hi,

First of all sorry that this took so long, but I had other things to worry about at the time. I ran MemTest86 and these are the results, please help me understand what they mean and how to solve this problem, because I read if there is just one problem then the memory is bad.

I left this running oveer night and it did 27 passes. I didn't get an error until pass 21 on test 5. Failing Address: 00017180040 - 369.0MB Good: 00000410 Bad: 00000400 Err-Bits: 00000010 Count: 1. That is all the information it gave me on the error. Please help me figure out what to do.

EDIT: I kept it still running and I got the same error except it was on pass 29 but it was still test 5. Please help me.
tedmp0816 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Memory Error

try setting your bios to the defaults and run memtests again
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Memory Error

My guess is that your RAM module is broken. You'll have to buy a new one.
farinha is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Memory Error

Would I be able to exchange it for a new one? Because this computer is brand new. I bought the RAM off newegg.
tedmp0816 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Memory Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmp0816 View Post
Would I be able to exchange it for a new one? Because this computer is brand new. I bought the RAM off newegg.
You should be able to exchange it. Just email Newegg.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Memory Error

just rma it and say that it malfunctioned and they'll ship one out and you'll get the computer working in less then a week and a half.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
I need some help trose Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-05-2007 11:12 PM
IE error ItHurtz Internet Software and Browsers 4 06-01-2007 05:01 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.