Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default Memory

My computer seems to have a memory leak somewhere that I cannot resolve. When I restart my computer it runs fine for about 30 minutes before I drags down to an unmanageable speed and I'm forced to restart and run it for another 30 minutes. Does anyone know what could be going on?
__________________

polakbob is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

take one stick out and test it and if it still does it, check the other one
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I have just 1, 1 gig stick of ram. nothing else lying around the apartment right now. Any other thoughts?
polakbob is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when did this start? did you add anything, delete anything? tweaks? etc?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Started today. The only thing different that I can imagine I did was that Adobe tries to download updates continually which I don't allow it to do usually because I just don't have the time to let it do it. Today I think I may have let it do the update though I'm not certain. Other than that, I don't know of anything that could have caused this. I maintain the hardware well, and it's a business computer so there are no games or nonbusiness downloads on it. I'm pretty protective of the system because of how vital it is to my business so I'm a bit worried about the idea this crippling the computer.
polakbob is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what does msconfig>startup look like?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

clean. that's actually the first place i looked. nothing in there that shouldn't be as far as I know (and the things I couldn't account for from memory I googled)
polakbob is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how many entries are checked?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

11, but most are smaller programs that I have to use with my business and the rest are video/audio driver programs.
polakbob is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

just for the **** of it, why dont you disable them all except your antivirus and see what happens, if its still the same, recheck them back
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.