Media Player Brightness? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2006, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Media Player Brightness?

Heya, I was wondering if anyone could help me out. In Windows Media Player my videos are all too dark. Just using WMP. I see you can go under View/Enhancements/Video Settings and adjust the brightness. I adjust the bar and everything looks great, but every time I open WMP it goes back to default. Is there a way to lock this??? Really driving me crazy. I have my monitor brightness to max, and I know I can adjust the brightness more with my nvidia software, but then everything is TOO bright, I only need it adjusted for media player. Any help is appreciated.
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

Bump. Anyone? Or is there another player that has a function built in so you can permanently increase brightness?
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

When you adjusted display settings in the nvidia settings, did you alter the video overlay settings?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

No, I didn't see a feature named video overlay. Is that something I need to adjust? What option is that under? Thanks for the reply!
Shafra is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Why do the video-settings adjustments that I make in the Player go back to default values when I play a new video?
Windows Media Player doesn't retain video-settings adjustments between video playback sessions because non-default settings may not work for all videos. For example, if your video is too dark and you increase the brightness, the next video you play may be hard to see at that brightness setting. You may need to adjust the video settings for each video that you play.

If your settings appear to be consistently maladjusted (for example, all of your videos are too dark), try adjusting overlay or color values for your video card instead. To access video-card properties, do the following:

1.
In Control Panel, open Display.

2.
In the Display Properties dialog box, on the Settings tab, click the Advanced button.

3.
Adjust properties for your video card by reviewing the documentation that came with your hardware.
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

If you have the nvidia forceware display drivers installed, then look for the Color Correction tab in your display settings.

...Should be a dropdown box at the top. Select Overlay and adjust the contrast and brightness levels on the left side.

This will only work if in WMP, the setting at Tools > Options... > Performance Tab > Advanced Button (Under Video acceleration) > Use video mixing renderer option is checked, and the option set to Use Overlay.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks for the explanation on why media player won't let you save the settings Makes sense. I adjusted the overlay gamma just a bit and videos seem perfect now. thanks guys
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.