Media Icons - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2004, 05:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default Media Icons


This is your (actually my) final chance guys.

I posted WEEKS ago about an icon problem I was having with media files. One minute they're all displaying the RealPlayer icon (all of my MP3, AVI etc. files are RP10 associated). The next minute the crappy default 'I don't know' one is what I get. No warning, no excuse. All files still LAUNCHED RealPlayer when double clicked, simply wouldn't display the RP10 icon.

Okay. Not a problem. I try reinstalling RealPlayer and setting it as the default player (again) for all media files. Didn't work. Okay. So I try the Control Panel -> Folders Options -> File Types bit? Didn't work either. Not even trying to change the icon for a SINGLE file would work. It always reverts back to the crappy icon. IconChanger or similar software? Nup. By now of course I'm starting to suspect RP10 itself, so I remove RP10 completely, set WMP9 as the default player and expect ITS icon to be displayed. Nup. Same thing.

This is by now obviously getting beyond a joke. In 4 hours I'm going to have to bite the bullet and backup everything, reformat my HD, reload etc. etc. on the off chance that it will fix it.

The clock is ticking

Monty61 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 06:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Do u have any other media/audioplayers installed?

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

pretty drastic move to reformat just cuz the icon isn't pretty. long as the file still opens like its supposed to.....
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11

Thank you Major, Jak. You are indeed right Jak. Silly to have to reformat etc. for the sake of an icon. But I'm a perfectionist you see, and if I can't figure out something this simple I should turn in my engineering degree. The only consolation is that NOONE can work it out. Okay (Major), I have have tried every possible combination and permutation of media players. WMP9, RP10 together installed, RP10 only, WMP9 only. Nothing. Microsoft of course won't talk to me (Me?). They probably don't know either. Anyway, about to reformat. Cheers.
Monty61 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.