Media freezes my computer...help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default Media freezes my computer...help

Everytime I try and open any type of video file in any app. IE: Media Player, Winamp, Divx player it will act like it wants to load up then freeze up my computer. It wont totally lock up but It just freezes up for a few seconds then un freezes. I noticed when I hit ctrl+alt+del and brought up the memory processes it said it was using 100% of CPU Usage.

I have currently reformatted and now I am getting this problem. Can anyone help me out?
__________________

Resqtek is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

Does it do the same thing when you try to play sound files aswell? If you can play sound files without a problem then it is probably something to do with the video card. Make sure your video drivers are properly installed and if that doesn't work then try another video card if possible.
__________________

__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I believe my drivers are up to date, I just installed a new vid card. My games play well, i do get sound files to play, its just the videos that screw my stuff up
Resqtek is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Resqtek
I believe my drivers are up to date, I just installed a new vid card. My games play well, i do get sound files to play, its just the videos that screw my stuff up
what kind of card do you have?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Nvidia 6600 GT
Resqtek is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Has it only happened since you installed the new card?
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

yes
Resqtek is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

uninstall that driver and head to window updates to download a ms certified driver
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

k ill try it
__________________

Resqtek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.