Media Center or XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Media Center or XP Pro

Is media center edition better then xp pro for general web browsing, media (duh) and messaging?
__________________

Crath is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

windows xp media centre is basically for people who want to have their PC hooked up to their big screen TV, and be able to watch movies, television, off their PC.

for web browsing, MSN, watching movies on a monitor, XP professional will do fine.

if you are looking for a cheap alternative, XP Home is recommended for basic stuff like you want to do, or Linux, which is free!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I think MS rates XP Pro higher than Media Center and in a sense it is better with networking advantages.


Pro = Commercial / Business / Enthusiast

ME = Home User
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
I think MS rates XP Pro higher than Media Center and in a sense it is better with networking advantages.


Pro = Commercial / Business / Enthusiast

ME = Home User
Yeah, I am into all the networking, modding, tuneing, etc. Just was curious about media center, thnks
Crath is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I haven't used Media Center myself for more than a period of 2-3 weeks but it does seem like XP Home with added features for media. Not even Pro has these Media features though.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
I think MS rates XP Pro higher than Media Center and in a sense it is better with networking advantages.


Pro = Commercial / Business / Enthusiast

ME = Home User
I know pro is the best! home and business!
derrmc is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

yeah, ive been using pro for a year or so
Crath is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 07:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i think XP Pro is the best way to go. If you are truly into the Media aspect then you can always go for ZPize. It is a free application. They have a specific MCE edition XPize that does all the functions of the MCE. I have used that a few times and it is alright. Gives you the feel of MCE without having to actually install MCE.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

alright, thanks
Crath is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I'm pretty sure that media center is built on top of xp pro
so basically it just is xp pro with a media program built into it
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.