ME to XP not possible!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 07:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default ME to XP not possible!!!

Got: ME in English. Want to: upgrade to XP in Danish. Compatibility test sez languages a problem thus not possible. What to do?
__________________

like_putty_in.. is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 07:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Uninstall ME and install XP. Can use 2 Different languages of an operating system. Wont allow for an upgrade or such unless it ame language. Only option is to install only XP fresh.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 07:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

thanks! uninstall ME ... give me a hint where to begin. am computer savvy, just have never formatted b4.
like_putty_in.. is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 07:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

+ I hope I don't need to make partitions. sounds awfully difficult
like_putty_in.. is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 08:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Do you care about your programs and data?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

you could always install XP in english and then switch it to danish once you are done installing.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I do care about data, yes. it doesn't seem to be possible to switch languages. when I run the compatibility test beforehand, I get a message that says upgrade cannot be done becuz of different languages. are you saying I can choose languages when I do a clean install?
like_putty_in.. is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

well, let me ask this: why was ME not installed in Danish in the first place?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

good question freak. I bought my pc here in spain and with it got ME in spanish. wanted a language I master better so a friend put ME on instead, in english. then I bought XP in Denmark in danish (cuz I'm danish) . realize now, dont work!
like_putty_in.. is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

If your format to XP you will lose all your data...
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.